Skip to main content

US History WWII: Home

World War II LibGuide

**Start your searches in the Databases: ABC-Clio, History Reference Center, and Britannica Reference Center are the best places to start.** 

Then use some of the supplemental links on the right side to continue your research. 

Database Passwords

Click on the link to access all passwords. Type the database password provided by your librarians.  After school hours, send us an email.

 

Database Passwords

Databases

Loading ...

Potential Topics

Topics Worth Exploring:

  • Holocaust
  • Warfare (Allies/Axis)
  • A-Bomb
  • D-Day Invasion
  • Stalingrad
  • Western/Eastern Front
  • Totalitarian Government
  • War in the Pacific
  • Home front
  • Internment Camps
  • Pearl Harbor
  • Island Hopping
  • Dunkirk
  • Liberation of France
  • Battle of Midway
  • Propaganda
  • Military Technology
  • Rise and Fall of 3rd Reich
  • Nazi Eugenics
  • Japan Empire
  • Women and Minorities in the War Effort
  • German Appeasement

Additional Resources

The following is a list of websites that may be helpful in your research in addition to using the databases. This is not a comprehensive list so please feel free to search beyond these websites. Be sure to look at the resources linked in these websites as well. 

Encyclopedia of the Second World War

History.com

  • Search for any World War II topic to find an overview of the event and various resources on the event. 

BBC Online: World War II

Best History Sites 

WWII Primary Sources

Primary Sources gathered from Yale

Truman Library - Decision to Drop the Bomb

  • Documents detailing the decision to drop the Atomic Bomb

Documents Detailing the Dropping of the Atomic Bomb and Aftermath

  • Scroll down to the middle of the page to find the linked documents. 

Nuremburg Trials - compiled by Harvard

  • Examine trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers from the trials of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany. 

Historic Government Publications from WWII

  • Includes publications on women's issues, children's issues, pocket guides, victory bulletins, etc. 

Our Documents

  • 100 milestone documents from American history. 

EyeWitnessHistory.com

 

The Holocaust:

Internment Camps

The Atomic Bomb

D-Day Invasion

Stalingrad

War Technology

Library | Blue Valley West High School
Knowing is not enough...
Visit us at http://bvwhs.libguides.com